There is a special place in Hell for those that abuse the disabled.

6 Mar

Wow. Just…wow.

So as you’ve seen me mention before, I work retail. My bosses are both younger than me and treat this job like they’re working something important like Homeland Security.

For the past month or so, the endometriosis pain has been progressing to the point where I’m almost non-functional. Little by little each day my ability to lead a normal life is disappearing. Hubby and I were actually discussing today the idea of me using a wheelchair when we go out because I can no longer walk through a store for longer than five minutes.

My job is fully aware of my physical limitations and the way my disease is progressing. So today, I look at my tasks for the day:

- Put out stock of electrical items
– Sweep entire store

Electrical items are on the top shelf of our stock room. They require a LADDER to pull down. And I cannot even walk from the front to the back of the store without support, let alone sweep the entire thing.

So I take a glance at the tasks my coworker has to do. She has ONE task, to take small makeup items out of the Tupperware totes and put them out on the floor. All of which is a)lightweight and b) at ground level.

WOW.

The cruelty of humankind astonishes me sometimes.

3 Responses to “There is a special place in Hell for those that abuse the disabled.”

  1. gigi March 6, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

    There is a law against such treatment. Get a copy and mail it anonymously to your boss.

    • The Endo Diaries March 6, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

      The only problem is I do not have paperwork from my doctors for this most recent flare. The only paperwork I have on file is from my last flare pre-Lupron. But I will definitely be getting some paperwork to cover me from here on out, at least until I have my next lap.

  2. Katlyn May 5, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

    WOW! To endure such cruelty must be horrible!! Hope your coworkers picked up your slack. This makes me sick.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

