Why you shouldn’t give up on your dreams just because you’re sick.

27 Mar

I don’t remember where I read it – probably on one of the dozens of endometriosis websites I read on a weekly basis – but I read that you shouldn’t stop making plans just because you’re sick. Unfortunately, I do this a LOT. My entire life recently has had to be scheduled around my symptoms and my good/bad days.

This subject came up recently when my husband and I were discussing our plans for the summer. He has a million things he wants to do this summer, because next summer he has to quit his well-paying job for a year-long unpaid internship and we’ll have to be really tight with our finances. Every idea he came up with (Disney World, Virginia Beach, amusement parks) I replied with, “I don’t know, it depends on when I have my surgery or how bad I’m in pain.” Eventually he got frustrated and said, “I’m tired of scheduling our lives around your illness. Life didn’t end just because you got sick.”

And as much as it hurt to hear that…HE’S RIGHT.

I’ve had to give up so much because of endometriosis. Finishing my degree, for one – I had to drop my class because the start date was only a week after my first surgery, and I wasn’t out of bed or sitting upright for extended periods of time until 4 weeks before the semester ended. Having children is another thing that has possibly been taken away from me. Not to mention the countless hours spent writhing around in pain when I could have been DOING something, and the thousands of dollars spent in a single year on surgery, prescriptions, and office copays (at $45 a pop, sometimes up to 3-4 visits a month, that money adds up).

So no more. I’m not going to give up on having dreams and plans because of my illness. I WILL build my online business and make it successful. We WILL take at least one vacation or day trip this summer. And, eventually, I WILL get that degree.

2 Responses to “Why you shouldn’t give up on your dreams just because you’re sick.”

  1. dymen84 March 30, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    I know exactly how you feel. Anytime you are feeling ill just keep reminding yourself what your husband said. Altho harsh, he is correct. Our lives don’t stop because we are ill. We have endometriosis not the other way around.

  2. KelliR May 8, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

    I have diaphragmatic endo, too. It is so difficult to bear and has become progressively worse for me over the past year (diagnosed in 2005). I will definitely be checking in here to see if you come up with treatment options I might be able to steal!!! :) Thanks for sharing. It is so rare to hear from anyone else with diaphragmatic endo.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

